Sponsored By:  

New to me! Megane 225 2005 55

Discussion in 'Track Days & Track Driving' started by Liam collins, Nov 24, 2020.

1. Afternoon all

This weekend I bought myself a 2005 (55) megane 225 with the intention of having it as a pure track car but have it MOT’d and taxed so I don’t have to trailer it to and from any days.

Been having a mooch about online as to what bits need doing to get it ready for some fun! (I’m new to track driving so don’t feel the need to go for a mental set up yet)

I appreciate the obvious answer will be brakes and tyres first then see how you go which I intend to do [emoji106]

the car has got 129,000 miles on it but has receipts for a new clutch 12,000 miles ago and swivel joints 30,000 miles ago

It has...

Miktek cat back exhaust
    Forge dump valve
    H&R lowering springs

Is there anything engine wise I should be concerned about at this mileage or that I should check so I don’t kill it on my first day out? I get that this is an open ended question and that it depends entirely on how well the car has been maintained.

I just don’t want to invest £800 or so into tyres and brakes and kill it straight away.

I know the car has been remapped but not a clue who by, to me it smells like it’s running rich. Would it be a good idea to take it straight to RS tuning and get them to map it again just for piece of mind that it’s running a good map?

Any help or pointers generally with what to do/check/plan for the car will be greatly received. I’m fairly mechanically minded but new to the whole track life.

Cheers. IMG_0942.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. i would take it to Rs Tuning or EFI for sure.If the
    maps bad,the engine wont last long.
    Lots of crap generic maps uploaded on these which is a recipe for disaster.

Engines weakspot is the rods..It widely acknowledged to keep power below 300/300,if you want it to last,but it can be luck of the draw.