Hillclimb and Sprint Megane RS250 -

Discussion in 'Megane Projects' started by arch, Aug 6, 2019.

1. Thought it was maybe time to start a project thread and introduce myself after a few months of lurking around and asking noddy new boy questions due to my almost non existent knowledge of the Megane.
    I have been racing an Impreza for around 11 years but took the decision in 2017 to break the car and take a step back from racing for a while. This was a really difficult decision as I had built the car from a pretty standard 1992 Ver 1 Import Type RA (lightest Impreza made) to a full blown race car weighing 1060kg with 551 BHP at the wheels. I initially competed in The Scottish Hill Climb and sprint championship which was a pretty successful period then more recently once the car had been built for the 2nd time from a bare shell into a lightweight full on race car I moved to Super Lap Scotland which for those that don't know is very similar to Time Attack but based at Knockhill but this year I believe it has had an away round.
    Some pics below of the Impreza as it was back in 2008 when I bought it and before I broke it late 2017. CIMG0364.JPG CIMG0366.JPG Flat out 3.jpg Flat out 4.jpg IMG_0163.JPG Sat 1 wing.jpg

2. now that's one circuit i need to do, but it's a 11hr drive for me, so going to have to find another track to do on the way up or back.

so are you going to use the Megane for the same sort of events or you going to use it for trackdays ???

arch likes this.
  3. I am not yet sure how far I will take the Megane but I doubt it will be as radical as the Impreza. One of the issues you have when you move from highly modified road car to full race car is you soon find you cant use the car as much as you used too. Even tho the Impreza was still road legal ish cough cough you couldn't really use it on the road lol.