265 Engine bay electrical noise

Discussion in 'Electrical & Interior - Security, ICE, Wiring Loom' started by secondborn, Mar 22, 2020.

1. I've recently noticed that with the ignition on there's a buzzing noise coming from the engine bay - you can hear it very clearly in this video - (with the bonus footage of me poking about with a screwdriver trying rather unsuccessfully to point out approximately where I think the noise is coming from). If I wait for the ignition to automatically switch off (when the engine is off), I can hear what sounds like a relay click a few times before the noise stops. The noise is still there with the engine on - it's just not really audible as the engine drowns it out (but I can definitely hear it using a trick I found somewhere else on this forum where someone suggested pressing one end of a screwdriver to the part and the other end to my ear). I'm quite new to car maintenance, and I'm still learning what bits under the bonnet do what, so I have some probably silly questions: does anyone else have this noise (or is it maybe completely normal in these cars); if not, what is the part that the noise is coming from (I've marked it in the photo below)? There does seem to be a wire running into what I assume is some sensor deeper down (not really visible in the photo, but the arrow points to where it is), but I don't really have a clue what function that has.

IMG_2967.png

2. That´s not the electronic butterfly?(well, maybe is not the same word in english) I mean that controlled air intake under the order of acelerator. Many cars makes the same noise with swich on and engine off. Maybe not harder than yours but I think can be normal. I´ll try to reset this device, if the noise continues, try another "butterfly". Sorry if I´m understable!!:fearful:

3. Don't worry about it.

They all do it, its finding its position, the throttle plate is spring loaded so it fighting against the spring.