225 vibration when idle - not mounts?

Discussion in 'Mechanical - Engine, Gearbox, Exhaust etc' started by mikep, Feb 27, 2014.

1. Hi everyone,

I've recently bought a 2006 rs megane 225. I've noticed that it has a problem with vibration when idling. Once I increase the revs, it appears to die down a lot but still as I am driving it is occasionally noticeable as I can see the rear view mirror blurring every now and then (though it isnt anywhere near as bad as when idling).

I'm no mechanic but forums seemed to suggest engine mounts. I took it to a garage that I trust, and they said that when they 'barred the bush on the rear engine mount' the vibrations died down from the cabin but could still be felt on the engine, and that there wasn't much play at all in the mounts so in their opinion it wouldn't be worth changing them- it would just mask the problem a bit.

But they didn't know what else to suggest. I'm thinking of taking it to Renault but I figure that'll be pricey, so I thought I'd look to my very good friend the internet for advice first.

I'd be really grateful for suggestions of anything I can check. I have access to a pit and a mechanically minded friend. and the misplaced confidence to try things myself.

thanks in advance!

2. Will.

Will. RSM Moderator RSM Moderator

I have the same problem. Sometimes when the engine is really cold, the wing mirrors vibrate too.

3. How much was your mount? I might change mine for the fact its done

4. I think it was 73 quid delivered give or take a pound or two

5. From what you describe, it sounds like the main top engine mount (the one between the cambelt cover and the coolant header tank). Mine didn't look too bad (53k, 07 plate), but when it was replaced it completely eliminated the vibration at idle. I wasn't convinced it would make a difference, but the difference was night and day.

Can you get your finger in the gap at the top of the mount? If you can its probably sagged.