Sponsored By:  

Megane 265 Cup - Track Advice

Discussion in 'Track Days & Track Driving' started by Linus27, Feb 24, 2020.

1. Hi everyone,

I have done track days for the last 10 years, starting out in a Lotus Elise S1 and for the last 6 years with a Honda Integra Type R DC5. I'm now thinking of selling the Honda and tracking my Megane 265 Cup. I know all about the ins and outs of the Honda and running a NA engine but I am very new to the Megane and running a turbo car on track. I am also unaware of how good the Megane setup is out of the box and what is good to upgrade for a more track focused car.

The area's I would focus on would be,

Brakes - Discs, pads, line and fluid or even a big brake kit if recommended.
    Tyres - I currently run AD08R's on the Integra so I would be looking at something track focused for the Megane.
    Suspension - Are coilovers recommended or is the stock suspension and springs good enough?
    Handling - Any handling upgrades recommended? My Honda has a Fast Road setup with adjustable camber bolts.
    Cooling - This is a big concern for me being a Turbo car. I imagine upgrading the Intercooler would be a wise move. After that, I am unsure.
    Oil Cooling - Is it recommended?
    Induction - I wasn't going to bother changing this from the stock setup.
    Exhaust - I have the mid pipe delete but the rest I was going to keep as standard.
    Remap - I was going to get this done at some point by RS Tuning in Leeds.

So I am just after some advice from those who track there Megane's on a regular basis who can steer me a little on what route I should take. I do about 6 - 8 track days a year including Spa so my interest is making it reliable by managing the cooling and then improving the basics, brakes, tyres and suspension.

Many thanks for any advice, suggestions or tips.

2. Hi Linus
    Brakes- use Brembo high carbon discs, i use plain but thinking of going back to grooved to try them again.