275 Stage 2 // reliability question // F4Rt

Discussion in 'Mechanical - Engine, Gearbox, Exhaust etc' started by Mircea, Sep 2, 2017.

What should I do:

1. Buy the car at a decent price, make assumption its strong.

2. Don't even think about it, most likely its been overboosted, search for a virgin / low milage one.

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Hi guys,

Newbie here, I'm looking in the market for a 275 Trophy and stumbled upon a very interesting example.

It has ~75k km milage on the clock and seems to have a tune done of around 310hp and 450nm torque.

I'm really in the dark on how reliable these engines are and how safe would it be to get one like this.

Software is not from ktec or any other known company.

Also what can I check in such a situation?

How much would a new engine supplied by Renault cost for a 275?

Thank you so much in advance for your inputs !

2. -Jamie-

-Jamie- RSM Moderator

Sage enough, plenty running more than that with no issues nowadays

Mircea likes this.
  3. Mileage ?

Noted & thank you !

4. If you don't know who has mapped and tuned the 275, don't buy. Not worth the risk.

5. Company is called UNITRONIC Poland, they seem to do work on a lot of cars.

6. Reputation and a previous history of providing good, safe and reliable remaps on Mk3 RS Meganes is what you need.

7. -Jamie-

-Jamie- RSM Moderator

Not really.

Mine is tuned by a company that has only done a handful of Meganes and it's perfectly fine. If they have the skills to produce a good calibration then it doesn't matter what car it goes on. Starting to sound like the RST fanboys now.

8. I think there is enough horror tuning storys going around,
    to warrant going to a firm ,with strong,long term proven reliability.

The trouble is knowing who actually has the skills and knowhow, to present you with a reliable tuned engine.

Look at whats happened recently to several guys on here with Bluefin maps.