R26 F1- Best Driving Weekend Ever.

Discussion in 'Megane Discussion' started by Powello9, Aug 5, 2014.

1. Hi Guys,

So 8 weeks ago i bought a Liquid Yellow R26 F1. I paid a little over the odds but it was one female owner from new and full Renault service history. I met the family and was happy it was exactly what i was looking for. I wanted peace of mind.

The car was in Inverness so i drove up with my mate and our mountain bikes and incorporated a trip to Fort William and the downhill track there. The roads were simply epic. However, my driving was sub standard having owned a Toyota Hilux and 1 series BMW (the Mrs) for the last few years. I had a 182 cup before that.

I struggled to get to grips with the Diff and didn't trust the front... Loved the power though. So i went on holiday for 2 weeks...

Since then i have learnt how to use this car. It is simply epic and everyday builds my confidence higher. I am a fast road driver, not dangerous but i get a move on and absolutely adore corners. Each one is a challenge to perfect and enjoy.

So... On Sunday morning i set off from Chester to South Wales. Bags packed and a hungover girlfriend we set off for Newcastle-Emlyn. The mix of road on this 3 hour trip was unreal. It was dry, warm and perfect.

The car never missed a beat, even when my girlfriend did! She's used to my style of driving and by the end for the first time in 6 years was actually egging me on like a co-pilot such was the fun this little yellow car was delivering.

My personal favourite attribute of this car isn't dissimilar to my old wonderful 182. But getting a tight corner a little deep and lifting off, oversteering the rear in and then pinning the throttle. 2 cars with the same DNA. Except the F1 absolutely sling shots you out of the corner. Almost rewarding the mistake that got you there.