Cheap tyres - good tyres. Much difference on the road??

Discussion in 'Suspension, Brakes, Wheels & Tyres section' started by Mark B, Sep 13, 2017.

Tags:
  1. I've always used good tyres on my cars. Michelin / Conti / f1 assys etc. Now - My R26 came with Winruns on the front and Autogrips on the back.
    I've been looking at tyres since I bought the car in January but - it drives so well I'm reluctant to drop £500 just because I think I should! It grips rides and handles as well as any car I've had.

Has anyone gone from cheap / chinese tyres to really good ROAD tyres on their Megane??
    Was there much difference?
    I don't go on trackdays but I enjoy the great roads in Devon & Cornwall.
    Any first hand input would be appreciated.

2. I work in a garage that sells tyres, and have witnessed many an 'old shed' have a set of winruns, autogrips or any other 'budget' tyre fitted to it.

I can assure you they are all crap! And have no place fitted to you're R26!

Get some decent rubber on there mate and you'll notice the difference for sure.

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

Mikey4410 likes this.
  3. Why do you think they call them "Ditch finders" ?

4. I have from cars in the past. In the dry the cheap tyres seen to be ok under normal driving conditions. In the wet I'd always be a bit unsure.

Having good branded tyres gives confidence in the wet and you know in the back of your mind you're more likely to be safe (traction, stopping distances).

You don't have to stretch out to the top of the line Conti's or Michelin's etc but perhaps a set of branded and well rated tyres would be better than your current setup.

Mikey4410 likes this.
  5. Don't get me wrong I hope I'm not coming across as a cheapskate! I thought these tyres would be hopeless but they're not. The R26 must be really good on decent rubber! I was going to go for uniroyal rs3's but reviews are mixed. Might go for some ps4s from camskill